Sick of tags. Which CAT is easiest with tags & works with Mac?
Thread poster: Derek Silva (X)
Derek Silva (X)
Derek Silva (X)  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 18:29
Finnish to English
+ ...
Oct 5, 2019

Hello, apologies in advance for the newbie question. I have been translating for many years without a CAT tool for my prior employer (a bank) and now, having worked with a translation agency for a year, have also used Memsource (which was pretty good).

Recently, I started with another provider who uses memoQ and my first few experiences were nightmarish, dealing with all of the tags.

They want to hold on to me and asked me, "which CAT tool would you prefer?"
... See more
Hello, apologies in advance for the newbie question. I have been translating for many years without a CAT tool for my prior employer (a bank) and now, having worked with a translation agency for a year, have also used Memsource (which was pretty good).

Recently, I started with another provider who uses memoQ and my first few experiences were nightmarish, dealing with all of the tags.

They want to hold on to me and asked me, "which CAT tool would you prefer?"

Is there a CAT which:
- works directly on Mac (without needing VMware to simulate Windows)
- makes it easy to work with tags (or don't even need to touch them, is that even possible?)
- allows you to still deliver the final product, even if a few tags are unresolved

Not sure if such a tool exists, but no harm in asking!

Having checked through some threads here, it seems that at least these ones work on Mac also?
- Wordfast
- OmegaT
- Cafetran
- Pairaphrase

Thank you
Collapse

Hans Lenting
Hans Lenting
Netherlands
Member (2006)
German to Dutch
Have a look at CafeTran Oct 5, 2019

it is great with tags.

Christel Zipfel
Christel Zipfel  Identity Verified
Local time: 12:29
Member (2004)
Italian to German
+ ...
Try Wordfast Classic Oct 5, 2019