What is essential for a CAT-tool to provide regarding TM maintenance?
Thread poster: MarionCoessens
MarionCoessens
MarionCoessens
Belgium
English to Dutch
+ ...
Dec 20, 2017

Hi everyone! I am a student and working on a paper about translation memory maintenance in SDL Trados Studio and in Google Translator Toolkit. In order to compare those tools regarding TM maintenance, I should make a list of what translators find essential in TM maintenance (e.g. in TM maintenance I should be able to edit and remove translation units easily). That way, I can check if those features or aspects are present in the tools I am investigating.
So, my question is: what do you find
... See more
Hi everyone! I am a student and working on a paper about translation memory maintenance in SDL Trados Studio and in Google Translator Toolkit. In order to compare those tools regarding TM maintenance, I should make a list of what translators find essential in TM maintenance (e.g. in TM maintenance I should be able to edit and remove translation units easily). That way, I can check if those features or aspects are present in the tools I am investigating.
So, my question is: what do you find essential for a CAT-tool to provide regarding TM maintenance?
Thank you so much for you answers!

[Edited at 2017-12-20 16:04 GMT]
Collapse

DZiW (X)
DZiW (X)
Ukraine
English to Russian
+ ...
crutches: bells and whistles Dec 21, 2017

CATs are to assist the translator, not to diminish his efficiency or profits, nor to make translation a barely mechanical calculation.

In this view the main feature for me is CONTEXT for CATs cut sentences out of the idea, switching the languages, styles and audience too. Without the proper context it's all but a garbled version, IMO.

Concordance and references are a must for me.

Indeed, using segments as paragraphs instead of 'sentences' coul
... See more