Translation quality of web-based CAT tools
Thread poster: yunyi
yunyi
yunyi  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 16:25
English to Chinese
Aug 4, 2016

Hi, I am new to CAT Tools. Can anyone tell me if there's quality differences between web-based CAT tools and the ones you installed in local drive? My lap-top space is very limited so I was happy to find there are some web-based tools that I can use, such as SmartCat or wordfast anywhere, but not sure the quality is the same. By far, I found wordfast anywhere seems better than SmartCat.
Thanks for any input!

John Fossey
John Fossey  Identity Verified
Canada
Member (2008)
French to English
+ ...
Translation quality is up to the translator Aug 4, 2016

While there may be differences in working speed between online vs offline CAT tools, the quality is up to you (the translator). It depends what your process is for ensuring quality.

yunyi
yunyi  Identity Verified
United States
English to Chinese
TOPIC STARTER
thanks! Aug 4, 2016

John Fossey wrote:

While there may be differences in working speed between online vs offline CAT tools, the quality is up to you (the translator). It depends what your process is for ensuring quality.

Thank you very much! Just watched some video about cat tools, got better idea how it works.

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 22:25
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
I agree with John Aug 4, 2016

John Fossey wrote:
While there may be differences in working speed between online vs offline CAT tools, the quality is up to you (the translator).