Thread poster: Tom in London
Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Local time: 19:07
Member (2008)
Italian to English
Jun 17, 2016

Yesterday I was approached by an agency based in Hungary with which I have never worked before. They asked me to translate a very small job (about 500 words) urgently, and to use Webtrans.

I replied that I have never used Webtrans and that given the smallness of the project, it would not be economic for me to purchase, install, and learn Webtrans in less than 24 hours.

They then told me that I wouldn't need to pay for it and that I could use the online version. Quote (t
... See more
Yesterday I was approached by an agency based in Hungary with which I have never worked before. They asked me to translate a very small job (about 500 words) urgently, and to use Webtrans.

I replied that I have never used Webtrans and that given the smallness of the project, it would not be economic for me to purchase, install, and learn Webtrans in less than 24 hours.

They then told me that I wouldn't need to pay for it and that I could use the online version. Quote (the bad English is theirs, not mine): "You don’t have to pay for WebTrans. We’d give you a temporary licence and you could work on our server and it’s really simple software so one can learn it very fast how to use it."

This put me off even more and I did not proceed with the job. We did not even progress as far as me telling them my rate and them replying that it's too high (which always happens).

However I am curious about Webtrans. Is it any good?

I am also suspicious about working online with an agency I don't know. What kind of data about me would they be able to access?

[Edited at 2016-06-17 11:53 GMT]
Collapse

Michael Beijer
Michael Beijer  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2009)
Dutch to English
+ ...
Kilgray's ‘WebTrans’? Jun 17, 2016

Tom in London wrote: