Does Anyone Have Experience with Translation Software?
Thread poster: ashfawn
ashfawn
ashfawn
United States
Sep 18, 2015

I am a new intern for a company with headquarters based in Japan, and there is a lot of bilingual communication that goes back and forth between us and HQ. I am getting paid to translate important documents from one language to the other (i.e. presentations, excel spreadsheets, etc.). However, so much communication comes in that I can't possibly translate every email that comes in in an efficient manner.

My bosses have asked me to look into possible software that they can plug the
... See more
I am a new intern for a company with headquarters based in Japan, and there is a lot of bilingual communication that goes back and forth between us and HQ. I am getting paid to translate important documents from one language to the other (i.e. presentations, excel spreadsheets, etc.). However, so much communication comes in that I can't possibly translate every email that comes in in an efficient manner.

My bosses have asked me to look into possible software that they can plug their email text into to get a general idea of whether an email is important enough to be officially translated and distributed(because they do not want to put potentially sensitive material into Google translate). I advised them that there is really no way to trust a translation that wasn't done by a person, because there are always going to be errors (and usually not so small ones), but they asked me to research anyway.

I've done some preliminary research, and found many programs, but there just aren't any trustworthy-sounding reviews available. All the reviews seem like they were paid to be given, and don't mention anything about quality-- only how many languages XXX program is capable of.

So I was hoping that someone here might have some experience with a translation software, or at the very least might be able to aim me in a direction.