EL_isa
EL_isa
United Kingdom
Local time: 12:11
English to Italian
+ ...
Apr 3, 2015

Dear All,

I have little experience with Translation Technology and was reading about AntConc - actually, I have downloaded and tried to use it too. As far as I have seen, this tool seems to be able only to spot the same word reiterated in the text but not to spot words with different endings but belonging to the same grammar category (e.g. imperative verbs 3rd person singular - the Italian "Lei" politeness form). I see this is quite a different task. Any software to do that?
... See more
Dear All,

I have little experience with Translation Technology and was reading about AntConc - actually, I have downloaded and tried to use it too. As far as I have seen, this tool seems to be able only to spot the same word reiterated in the text but not to spot words with different endings but belonging to the same grammar category (e.g. imperative verbs 3rd person singular - the Italian "Lei" politeness form). I see this is quite a different task. Any software to do that?
I am aware of my inexperience, so any comment is more than welcome!!
Thank you very much.
Regards.
Collapse

Michael Beijer
Michael Beijer  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2009)
Dutch to English
+ ...
SynchroTerm Apr 3, 2015

You might want to give SynchroTerm a try!

Michael

http://www.terminotix.com/index.asp?name=SynchroTerm&content=item&brand=4&item=7&lang=en

Meta Arkadia
Meta Arkadia
Local time: 19:11
English to Indonesian
+ ...
Regex Apr 3, 2015

El_isa wrote:
...but not to spot words with different endings but belonging to the same grammar category

I don't know anything about the Italian grammar, but you can use regular expressions in AntConc.

Cheers,

Hans

[Edited at 2015-04-03 10:22 GMT]

Meta Arkadia
Meta Arkadia
English to Indonesian
+ ...
Lemmata Apr 3, 2015

It looks like you want to search for lemmata only. This seems to be possible in AntConc. From the manual: