Thread poster: James (Jim) Davis
James (Jim) Davis
James (Jim) Davis  Identity Verified
Seychelles
Local time: 16:35
Member (2022)
Italian to English
Jul 27, 2013

Does anbody know if Trados or other TM software check that the numbers in the target text are identical to those in the source text (or any other software at all)? As a financial translator, I find that getting the numbers wrong can be a big nightmare.

Tony M
Tony M
France
Local time: 14:35
French to English
+ ...
SITE LOCALIZER
Number checking with Wordfast Jul 27, 2013

I use Wordfast Classic, and that handles numbers in most cases transparently — hence little if any further 'checking' is needed.

If numbers occur in isolation, they are not even presented for translation, but are simply left untouched as in the source.

If numbers occur in combination with letters, this MAY cause them to be interpreted as segments (e.g. model numbers, etc.) As long as the letter part does not require translation, you can simply copy the source segment
... See more
I use Wordfast Classic, and that handles numbers in most cases transparently — hence little if any further 'checking' is needed.

If numbers occur in isolation, they are not even presented for translation, but are simply left untouched as in the source.

If numbers occur in combination with letters, this MAY cause them to be interpreted as segments (e.g. model numbers, etc.) As long as the letter part does not require translation, you can simply copy the source segment into the target segment, so once again, no errors can occur.