Regex for finding abbreviations/acronyms not in abbreviations list
Thread poster: Patricia Martin
Patricia Martin
Patricia Martin
United States
Japanese to English
+ ...
May 29, 2013

I know I really need to study regular expressions more so I don't have to ask on a forum for help, but bear with me, I'm still a newbie.

I translate a lot of technical documents and usually at the beginning there is a list of abbreviations.

Something like

API Application Programming Interface
DD Design Document
RC Remote Control

etc

However, throughout the document I'm starting to find lots of abbreviations that ar
... See more
I know I really need to study regular expressions more so I don't have to ask on a forum for help, but bear with me, I'm still a newbie.

I translate a lot of technical documents and usually at the beginning there is a list of abbreviations.

Something like

API Application Programming Interface
DD Design Document
RC Remote Control

etc

However, throughout the document I'm starting to find lots of abbreviations that are not in this list. Obviously the author should have taken better care of this beforehand and I probably should have looked over the document more carefully before accepting the job (newbie mistake) but it's too late now.

The client has no glossary of these abbreviations either (another newbie mistake by me). Although I've been told what a great idea it would be to have one (you don't say!?!) and to please provide them with one when I'm finished.

I'm not going through an LSP and I guess I could put the blame on the client and ask them to provide a list first, but it looks like I may be able to have a lot of work from them in the future (they need a lot of help) so I want to come off as superwoman. Unfortunately my computer skills are not there yet.