Job requirements: TRADOS exclude Wordfast ?
Thread poster: chalotto
chalotto
chalotto  Identity Verified
Italy
French to Italian
+ ...
Dec 12, 2012

Hi all,
hope this is the right place to post my question.

I'm new to CAT tools and I have to decide wich software to buy. I've found that products like TRADOS work only on Windows based platforms and Since I'm working on Mac (OSX) I will have to choose Wordfast.
But, at this point, my question is :

when in a job post appear TRADOS as a required tool, do they mean specifically Trados or ANY tool, then including Wordfast?
Can one answer to a job that
... See more
Hi all,
hope this is the right place to post my question.

I'm new to CAT tools and I have to decide wich software to buy. I've found that products like TRADOS work only on Windows based platforms and Since I'm working on Mac (OSX) I will have to choose Wordfast.
But, at this point, my question is :

when in a job post appear TRADOS as a required tool, do they mean specifically Trados or ANY tool, then including Wordfast?
Can one answer to a job that require TRADOS and if the job is done using Wf is there an option to export in a Trados file?

Thanks to those who can give an answer or, in case this would not be the right forum section, can redirect me to the appropriate one.
Collapse

Lennart Luhtaru
Lennart Luhtaru  Identity Verified
United States
English to Estonian
+ ...
depends Dec 12, 2012

It depends on clients and file formats. There is no one universal answer to this, often Trados is used just because they want the translator to use CAT tool and Trados is well known, but sometimes if the client wants Trados they really do want Trados and only Trados.

You can run Parallels+Windows+Trados on your Mac to use Trados if you want to.

Stanislav Pokorny
Stanislav Pokorny  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
Local time: 13:16
English to Czech
+ ...
CATs Dec 12, 2012

chalotto wrote: