Krzysztof Kłonica
Krzysztof Kłonica  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 18:44
English to Polish
+ ...
Nov 10, 2003

Hello,

I'm new to Trados and I've got a problem. I'm translating a Word file with text fields (boxes) and it seems Trados doesn't "see" them at all. Is it possible to translate text fields in Trados? I would appreciate any help.

Jerzy Czopik
Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
There are many possibilities of doing so Nov 10, 2003

One is to copy the text to a new file, translate it there and then to copy the text back.
The second one is to click into the text box and start translating within. It can be tricky, if the box has fixed dimensions. However, you can still resize the height of the text box (ie. by simply adding "1" before the original size) and then resize it back after the translation is finished (in above case by simply removing ther "1").
Remember, in both cases text within the text box will not be
... See more
One is to copy the text to a new file, translate it there and then to copy the text back.
The second one is to click into the text box and start translating within. It can be tricky, if the box has fixed dimensions. However, you can still resize the height of the text box (ie. by simply adding "1" before the original size) and then resize it back after the translation is finished (in above case by simply removing ther "1").
Remember, in both cases text within the text box will not be cleaned either in Workbench or using the Word macro. To get the text in the text boxes cleaned you must position the cursor within each text box and then run the Word macro. Workbench will never clean up such text boxes.