Word count in Trados
Thread poster: Toiny Van der Putte-Rademakers
Toiny Van der Putte-Rademakers
Toiny Van der Putte-Rademakers  Identity Verified
Local time: 06:07
English to Dutch
+ ...
Sep 12, 2003

I have just finished a Trados translation. +/- 6000 words, 2000 fuzzy matches. The TM was a mess. "No match"-es often had beene translated, but the translations did not "come out". I could find a lot with "concordance", but it was an awful lot of extra work, and I did not make the deadline.
This is my first project with a TM provided by the client. Please tell how I should count the words/matches? And what to do about the fuzzy matches that did not show?
It took me two days extra t
... See more
I have just finished a Trados translation. +/- 6000 words, 2000 fuzzy matches. The TM was a mess. "No match"-es often had beene translated, but the translations did not "come out". I could find a lot with "concordance", but it was an awful lot of extra work, and I did not make the deadline.
This is my first project with a TM provided by the client. Please tell how I should count the words/matches? And what to do about the fuzzy matches that did not show?
It took me two days extra to finish this translation. I got the job from an agency: they agree the TM was a mess, but their client disagrees.
Collapse

Elena Miguel
Elena Miguel  Identity Verified
Spain
English to Spanish
+ ...
My experience Sep 12, 2003

I don't know why but this has happened to me too a couple of times.
Does anyboby know what's the reason for this "hidden" corcondances??
Do you know how this problem can be solved??
Thank you in advance.

Jerzy Czopik
Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Adjust the match value in your TM options Sep 12, 2003