CAT Decision
Thread poster: Whisper9999
Whisper9999
Whisper9999
Local time: 00:21
English to Spanish
+ ...
Oct 14, 2008

I'm relatively new at this and I am at the point of getting a CAT tool. I don't have the money right now for Trados, although some day I might like to get it. However, I know that I want something that will handle Trados documents. So I have a couple of questions about how one might decide which one to buy:

1. The number of choices in a CAT tool seems overwhelming when you first lo
... See more
I'm relatively new at this and I am at the point of getting a CAT tool. I don't have the money right now for Trados, although some day I might like to get it. However, I know that I want something that will handle Trados documents. So I have a couple of questions about how one might decide which one to buy:

1. The number of choices in a CAT tool seems overwhelming when you first look at it:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Computer-assisted_translation

I can narrow down the choice somewhat because I want something relatively inexpensive (less than ~$300) and that can handle Trados documents. How do you decide? Do you just get a bunch of trial versions and try them out?

2. It looks like there are several Trados formats, right? TTX and RTF, correct? I assume these are both important?

3. Does anyone have any recommendations? I don't even know how to get started!

4. Any other things I should look for?

Thanks for the help.
Collapse

EHI (X)
EHI (X)
Local time: 09:21
TMX Oct 14, 2008

Hello Cristina

I can't really recommend which CAT tool to use as I've only worked with Trados so far, but as far as Trados compatibility is concerned I don't think it really matters which tool you choose. I think most CAT tools support the TMX standard, which is a vendor-neutral open XML standard for the exchange of translation memory data.

Hope this helps a little.

[Edited at 2008-10-14 16:52]

Claudia Alvis
Claudia Alvis  Identity Verified
Peru
Local time: 03:21
Spanish