Can't select previous words anymore in Croissant
Thread poster: krzysiekswiatly
krzysiekswiatly
krzysiekswiatly
Local time: 17:40
Aug 12, 2019

Hi,

I have been using CafeTran since 2014 and in the previous versions the regular shortcut for selecting and highlighting previous words (mainly to delete them):

shift + option + left key (on Mac)

worked like in any other application but in 10.5 Croissant I cannot use it - when I press this combination of keys nothing happens (it still works as usual in other apps though).

Do you know how to make it work again?

Best,
... See more
Hi,

I have been using CafeTran since 2014 and in the previous versions the regular shortcut for selecting and highlighting previous words (mainly to delete them):

worked like in any other application but in 10.5 Croissant I cannot use it - when I press this combination of keys nothing happens (it still works as usual in other apps though).

Best,
Krzysztof
Collapse

Hans Lenting
Hans Lenting
Netherlands
Member (2006)
German to Dutch
Bug on Mac ... Aug 12, 2019

krzysiekswiatly wrote:

Hi,

Best,
Krzysztof

Probably this is related to a known Java (?) bug on Mac. On my Mac (with keyboard layout PC International) the bug is 'only' triggered when I use the right ALT key (which I try to avoid).

The remedy (on my Mac) is to restart CafeTran Espresso 10 Croissant.

Hopefully, the next version of Java will solve this bug.

krzysiekswiatly
krzysiekswiatly
TOPIC STARTER
Java Aug 12, 2019

Hans Lenting wrote:

Probably this is related to a known Java (?) bug on Mac. On my Mac (with keyboard layout PC International) the bug is 'only' triggered when I use the right ALT key (which I try to avoid).

Hello Hans,

I see, I will try with the left option key and see if it works. Thank you.
EDIT: Yes it does work but - as you mentioned - only until you try to use the right one, than you have to reset the program which is really annoying because I use the right option key automatically.