Anna Augustin
Anna Augustin
Germany
Local time: 11:25
English to German
+ ...
Jun 29, 2018

Hi everyone,

I've been freelancing for over three years now and currently I am swamped with emails and requests. However, I am really busy on translation projects and I simply don't find the time to respond to requests or even apply to other projects.

Thus I have been thinking of outsourcing this to an assistant, but good assistants, even virtual assistants, are terribly expensive.

So I thought about a group of translators "joining forces" and hiring one as
... See more
Hi everyone,

I've been freelancing for over three years now and currently I am swamped with emails and requests. However, I am really busy on translation projects and I simply don't find the time to respond to requests or even apply to other projects.

Thus I have been thinking of outsourcing this to an assistant, but good assistants, even virtual assistants, are terribly expensive.

So I thought about a group of translators "joining forces" and hiring one assistant and splitting the costs. Does anyone of you have any experience with this? And what would this mean legally? Would this group of translators have to establish a legal and/or official partnership?

I am not asking anyone to join me or anything of this kind, I was just thinking about how this could be beneficial for freelance translators and possibly also the assistant, as this would likely result in quite the workload. And I would love to focus more on my actual work in the future. I love translating, but I don't like sitting here for up to two hours and do nothing but read and respond to emails.

Hopefully, I make sense and you can share your experience and ideas
Collapse

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 10:25
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
My two cents' worth Jun 29, 2018

Anna Augustin wrote: