Miruna Cocian
Miruna Cocian
Romania
Local time: 12:56
English to Romanian
+ ...
Nov 2, 2016

Relatable experiences in terms of ethical issues

Hello, my name is Miruna Cocian and I am a Translation Studies student from Romania.

I am working on a study related to ethical issues in translation and interpretation. My main focus at this time is on two particular principles: confidentiality and fidelity. My requests are as follows:

1. Could you share some examples of situations where you were faced with breaching confidentiality in the pro
... See more
Relatable experiences in terms of ethical issues

Hello, my name is Miruna Cocian and I am a Translation Studies student from Romania.

I am working on a study related to ethical issues in translation and interpretation. My main focus at this time is on two particular principles: confidentiality and fidelity. My requests are as follows:

1. Could you share some examples of situations where you were faced with breaching confidentiality in the process of translating/interpreting? How did you manage that situation? Did any of those situations have the potential to move from ethical/unethical into legal/illegal territory?

2. Could you share some examples of situations or issues related to the principle of fidelity in translation/interpreting (faithfully rendering the idea and form of the original)? How did you manage that situation? Did any of those situations have the potential to move from ethical/unethical into legal/illegal territory?

I would be very grateful if you could help me by sharing some of your work experience.

Thank you very much.

[Edited at 2016-11-02 08:40 GMT]
Collapse

Mario Chavez (X)
Mario Chavez (X)  Identity Verified
Local time: 05:56
English to Spanish
+ ...
Confidentiality and fidelity Nov 2, 2016

Hello, Miruna,