Sally Quinn
Sally Quinn  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 23:54
Member (2005)
French to English
+ ...
Apr 10, 2006

5 cents per word seems to be the going rate for French/Italian translations to English on the projects on which I have bid. I live in the USA. Frankly, I think that represents underpayment. But I am a freelancer and a newbie, so perhaps the rate is very good. What do you think? I need a reality check.

[Edited at 2006-04-10 16:19]

Fred Lessing
Fred Lessing
English to Portuguese
5 cents a word Apr 10, 2006

If you provide fully proofread translations without grammar, terminology or language errors, and if you translate INTO English, 5 cents sounds a bit underpaid to me. If it were into French or into Italian, the price would be acceptable (regardless of where you live, because nowadays agencies work globally just as much as translators do).

Jerónimo Fernández
Jerónimo Fernández  Identity Verified
English to Spanish
+ ...
Do the Math Apr 10, 2006

5 US$ cents a word x Approx. 300 words per hour (that's my average output) = approx 15 US$ per hour.

Let's assume you work 8h a day, and that you always have projects to translate: 8 x 15 = 120 US$ per day

Let's assume you rest on weekends, so you work some 22 days per month. 120 x 22 = 2,640 US$ per month.

I've never lived in the US, so I can't tell you for sure if you can live there on 2,640 US$ per month, but it sounds pretty little to me.

H
... See more
5 US$ cents a word x Approx. 300 words per hour (that's my average output) = approx 15 US$ per hour.

Let's assume you work 8h a day, and that you always have projects to translate: 8 x 15 = 120 US$ per day

Let's assume you rest on weekends, so you work some 22 days per month. 120 x 22 = 2,640 US$ per month.

I've never lived in the US, so I can't tell you for sure if you can live there on 2,640 US$ per month, but it sounds pretty little to me.

HTH,
Jerónimo

[Edited at 2006-04-10 17:12]
Collapse

Sally Quinn
Sally Quinn  Identity Verified