Wouthan (X)
Wouthan (X)  Identity Verified
Norway
Local time: 04:30
English to Norwegian
+ ...
Jan 26, 2015

Hi
I am a newbie to translations and I am looking for any good advice I can get...
I am also very serious and dedicated to become professional one day.

At this point
I have installed and learned the very basic of SDL Trados Studio Starter and Deja Vu X3
Unfortunately, I do not have any large Translation Memories, nor Term Bases. Just a small one, which a friend gave me.
I know there are lot of add-ins to Trados, such as SDL passolo and clouds, BUT it al
... See more
Hi
I am a newbie to translations and I am looking for any good advice I can get...
I am also very serious and dedicated to become professional one day.

At this point
I have installed and learned the very basic of SDL Trados Studio Starter and Deja Vu X3
Unfortunately, I do not have any large Translation Memories, nor Term Bases. Just a small one, which a friend gave me.
I know there are lot of add-ins to Trados, such as SDL passolo and clouds, BUT it all cost a lot of money, in which I am not ready ti invest yet. Not until I am absolutely certain that I could do a translation job properly.

So, what should be my next step?

I would like to do a real test run on a real job that involve the whole prosess. Is there a way I could do that?

What else should I do, that not cost a lot of money?

kind regards
Jarle
Collapse

Tiffany Hardy
Tiffany Hardy  Identity Verified
Spain
Spanish to English
give it a test run Jan 26, 2015

I wouldn't worry too much about not having a memory built up. This is something that happens over time and in many cases, the clients asks you to use their specific memory for a project.