Late chronotypes and freelancing
Thread poster: Fiona Grace Peterson
Fiona Grace Peterson
Fiona Grace Peterson  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 00:53
Italian to English
Feb 3, 2014

I am what is known as a late chronotype; left to my own devices, I get up late, and go to bed VERY late.
When required to by what I term as "outside commitments" (getting to an appointment, or getting to work before I was a freelancer), I have no problem getting up early, although I cannot say it is pleasant for me.

I am currently adjusting from university life (I studied nursing, so was required to start lectures at eight, and be on the ward for seven am sometimes) to freelan
... See more
I am what is known as a late chronotype; left to my own devices, I get up late, and go to bed VERY late.
When required to by what I term as "outside commitments" (getting to an appointment, or getting to work before I was a freelancer), I have no problem getting up early, although I cannot say it is pleasant for me.

I am currently adjusting from university life (I studied nursing, so was required to start lectures at eight, and be on the ward for seven am sometimes) to freelancing, and am doing battle with my body clock. If I am brutally honest, I know that getting up early makes me more productive, but it IS an eternal battle, and to me that is not what freelancing is about; being independent to me also means finding a balance, a certain harmony in life.

Here is a link to an interesting article on late chronotypes:

http://www.brainpickings.org/index.php/2012/05/11/internal-time-till-roenneber/

If anyone has any tips, experiences or thoughts to share on the topic I would be grateful. If you are a late chronotype and a freelancer, how have you dealt with the situation? Have you gone against your body clock (most clients and agencies begin work early), or have you kept to its times?
Collapse

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Local time: 23:53
Member (2008)
Italian to English