"General Terms and Conditions" - should I sign them?
Thread poster: Ludmila Kotnis
Ludmila Kotnis
Ludmila Kotnis
United Kingdom
English to Polish
Oct 8, 2012

Dear Colleagues,

I am a fresh graduate and I am still looking for my first clients. As a newcomer to the profession, I do not know some things that probably are obvious for most of you. Lately, I have received my first test translation and I have also been asked to send signed "General Terms and Conditions" as soon as possible, before I even send them the translated text. OK, I guess this is a standard document, but should I be worried or alarmed that the document contains informat
... See more
Dear Colleagues,

I am a fresh graduate and I am still looking for my first clients. As a newcomer to the profession, I do not know some things that probably are obvious for most of you. Lately, I have received my first test translation and I have also been asked to send signed "General Terms and Conditions" as soon as possible, before I even send them the translated text. OK, I guess this is a standard document, but should I be worried or alarmed that the document contains information about potential penalties or about the need to participate in potential scheduled meetings relating to the contractual service? It should be stressed here that from what I understand this company does not only work with freelance translators and that probably this is a standard document that they send to all potential co-workers. How can I make sure if it is safe for me to sign such a document? Also, I found the job offer on ProZ and the company appears to be trustworthy.

I would be pleased to read any comments!
Thank you.
Collapse

vokian_inc
vokian_inc
India
Local time: 12:52
German to English
+ ...
"General Terms and Conditions" - should I sign them? Oct 9, 2012

Hi Ludmila,

I represent a translation Agency and we do ask our translator to sign the "General Terms and Conditions" if necessary.