Best way to transition to part-time?
Thread poster: PulpFriction
Dec 13, 2011

Hi all,

Looking for some feedback on a career transition I've been pondering. Bonus points for those who can speak from experience, but I'm also interested in the thoughts of those for whom it's an abstract question.

I've been a full-time freelance translator for about ten years, and it has lost much of its lustre. I make a decent living from a reasonably large roster of direct clients... but I can't translate day-in, day-out and hit around 250 deadlines a year anymore.
... See more
Hi all,

Looking for some feedback on a career transition I've been pondering. Bonus points for those who can speak from experience, but I'm also interested in the thoughts of those for whom it's an abstract question.

I've been a full-time freelance translator for about ten years, and it has lost much of its lustre. I make a decent living from a reasonably large roster of direct clients... but I can't translate day-in, day-out and hit around 250 deadlines a year anymore. It's just too draining.

So, I'm planning to scale back and spend more time on other pursuits. But I'm not seriously considering a complete career change just yet; I'm planning on going part-time for at least the next year.

Here's the question: what's the most sensible way to cut back on translation without burning a bunch of bridges or inadvertently leaving myself high and dry? How do I do this while keeping open the option of going full-time again?

The most obvious, perhaps safest, approach seems to be simply to stop accepting new clients and let normal client turnover whittle down my business to the more modest level I want. The hitch is that this could take too long to achieve the desired result. And you just know the "dream client" will come knocking the moment I resolve not to take new clients.