VAT in Austria and Business Formation in the US
Thread poster: k-schwendtner
k-schwendtner
k-schwendtner
United States
German to English
May 19, 2010

I work as a freelance translator (German to English) for direct clients only.

Do I need to form a business entity, such as an LCC. in order to do that legally?

All my clients are based in Austria, where generally 20% VAT is charged. Do I have to charge that to them, as a US translator?

Kevin Fulton
Kevin Fulton  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 07:37
German to English
The short answer is "No" May 19, 2010

Your invoice should indicate the country of origin as well as a pertinent reference to the Austrian commercial code exempting your services as a foreign (non-EU) provider from VAT.

[Edited at 2010-05-19 21:31 GMT]

Daina Jauntirans
Daina Jauntirans  Identity Verified
Local time: 06:37
German to English
+ ...
Business entity May 19, 2010

You can choose whether you would like to operate as a sole proprietor, S-corp, etc. Check with an accountant about the tax implications, reporting requirements, etc.

Marina Steinbach
Marina Steinbach
United States
Local time: 07:37
Member (2011)
English to German
Just curious... Aug 19, 2012

k-schwendtner wrote:

I work as a freelance translator (German to English) for direct clients only.

Do I need to form a business entity, such as an LCC. in order to do that legally?

All my clients are based in Austria, where generally 20% VAT is charged. Do I have to charge that to them, as a US translator?

What have you done in the meantime? Have you established a LLC?

To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:

You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

VAT in Austria and Business Formation in the US

CafeTran Espresso
You've never met a CAT tool this clever!