Gabriela Luta (X)
Gabriela Luta (X)  Identity Verified
Ireland
Local time: 02:40
Spanish to English
+ ...
Oct 28, 2009

Hello everyone,

I have a question for all of you who are more experienced in freelancing. I have recently been approached by more than one translation company to provide interpreting services for one of my language pairs (English-Romanian). Is it possible to work for more than one translation/interpreting agency? I am new at this and I could use some advice.

Thanks,
Gabriela

Edward Vreeburg
Edward Vreeburg  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 01:40
Member (2008)
English to Dutch
+ ...
eeeh yes... Oct 28, 2009

Yes you can work for more than one agency, you are not em;poyed by this agency, you accept an assignment each time they call you, right?

There may be some ethics involved if they send you to the same end client, in which case I would contact agency A (the one you work most for) and tell them agency B (new agency) has offered you the same job. They might have lost the contract or something but at least they now know you had nothing to do with it....

Ed

Joanna Rączka
Joanna Rączka  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 01:40
Member (2009)
English to Polish
+ ...
one at a time Oct 28, 2009

The only problem with working with two or more agencies is when they offer you an assingment on the same day. Unless you can be at the same time in two different places. Generally we all work for a few agencies and direct clients as well.

Alexandra Goldburt
Alexandra Goldburt
Local time: 16:40
English to Russian
+ ...
I work for about three dozen agencies. Oct 28, 2009

It's a common practice, to my knowledge. In fact, to stick to one agency only is rather uncommon.

José Henrique Lamensdorf
José Henrique Lamensdorf  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 20:40
English to Portuguese
+ ...
In memoriam
Ethics? Oct 28, 2009

Edward Vreeburg wrote: