What do you reply to 'What's your job'
Thread poster: Christine Ghafoor
Christine Ghafoor
Christine Ghafoor
United States
Local time: 23:27
English to French
Jul 29, 2009

When somebody asks you 'Do you work?' what do you reply?

- I am a translator
- I do translations
- I am freelance
- I work from home
- I have a home office
- ???

When you are a mom (and maybe a dad) translator working from home, don't you feel frustrating that people understand working from home by 'playing on the keyboard' while watching tv?

How do you make it clear, shortly? Maybe just saying 'I work freelance'
... See more

- I am a translator
- I do translations
- I am freelance
- I work from home
- I have a home office
- ???

When you are a mom (and maybe a dad) translator working from home, don't you feel frustrating that people understand working from home by 'playing on the keyboard' while watching tv?

How do you make it clear, shortly? Maybe just saying 'I work freelance'?

Thanks for your help,

Christine
Collapse

Niraja Nanjundan (X)
Niraja Nanjundan (X)  Identity Verified
Local time: 08:57
German to English
I usually say..... Jul 29, 2009

Ghafoor wrote:
I am a translator

When you are ..........a translator working from home, don't you feel frustrated that people understand working from home as "playing on a keyboard"while watching tv?

No, not at all. I love what I do and I don't care what others think about it.

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT
Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 05:27
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
I'm a translator Jul 29, 2009

That's it! No matter where you work, what clothes you wear, how many hours a day do you work, how many computers you have, etc. etc. If your main activity is translation... you are a translator.

[Edited at 2009-07-29 11:48 GMT]

Sergei Tumanov
Sergei Tumanov  Identity Verified
Local time: 06:27
English to Russian
+ ...
Sometimes ... Jul 29, 2009

I reply that I create added value.