Thread poster: Tansy Tazewell
Tansy Tazewell
Tansy Tazewell  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 23:16
Member (2008)
German to English
Mar 25, 2008

I recently submitted a quote by e-mail for the translation of a fairly short book. I stated my line rate and the time needed for the translation based on a sample of the book they had provided. The client is a small publisher I have never worked for before. They thanked me for my quote and are now asking me to send them a contract for the translation by tomorrow. I really don't know what they're expecting here and I only get an answer machine when I try calling them. Any ideas what they want? I... See more
I recently submitted a quote by e-mail for the translation of a fairly short book. I stated my line rate and the time needed for the translation based on a sample of the book they had provided. The client is a small publisher I have never worked for before. They thanked me for my quote and are now asking me to send them a contract for the translation by tomorrow. I really don't know what they're expecting here and I only get an answer machine when I try calling them. Any ideas what they want? I'm not a lawyer and am loathe to attempt to word anything legal myself!Collapse

Ellemiek Drucker
Ellemiek Drucker  Identity Verified
Local time: 22:16
English to Dutch
+ ...
'standard contracts available online2 Mar 25, 2008

Hi Tansy,

Have a look on the web. I know there are standard translation contracts available (for free). I believe the ATA website has one. I have used this before and just amended it where necessary and it seemed fine.

HTH
Ellemiek

Daina Jauntirans
Daina Jauntirans  Identity Verified
Local time: 16:16
German to English
+ ...
Where is the client located? Mar 25, 2008

If you intend to adapt a sample contract, use one written for the jurisdiction of your client. If the client is in the US, the ATA ones would be more appropriate than something provided by the BDÜ and vice versa for German clients.