Lucia Messuti
Lucia Messuti  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 19:28
English to Italian
+ ...
Jan 5, 2019

Dear collegues

When a new year starts, you usually try to do things better than the year before.

Now, I would like to start dictating translations more than writing them. The most famous tool is dragon, which cannot be used on a Mac. I've seen there is a built-in Dictation tool.

Have you already used it? If so, how did you train it?

Happy New Year 2019

Lucia

Jan Truper
Jan Truper  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2016)
English to German
... Jan 5, 2019

I used to use Dragon, now I use the Mac dication tool. It works fine for my language (German) and allows me to combine dictation with typing -- Dragon did not like this combination. No need to train.

Tom in London

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Local time: 18:28
Member (2008)
Italian to English
Excellent Jan 5, 2019

I have been using Mac Dictation for several years now. It's much better than Dragon (and it's free!) because it isn't a third party add-on; it's completely integrated with the MacOS so works perfectly.

No training is required. It learns by itself, over time, as long as you use the "enhanced dictation" option in System Preferences.

But you DO need a very good microphone. After wasting my money on 2 or 3 that were no goo
... See more
I have been using Mac Dictation for several years now. It's much better than Dragon (and it's free!) because it isn't a third party add-on; it's completely integrated with the MacOS so works perfectly.

No training is required. It learns by itself, over time, as long as you use the "enhanced dictation" option in System Preferences.

But you DO need a very good microphone. After wasting my money on 2 or 3 that were no good, I use one of these

https://www.plantronics.com/gb/en/product/blackwire-435