Off topic: help translating middle eastern language
Thread poster: fusupo
fusupo
fusupo
English
Sep 20, 2004

i have no real knowledge of what language, I've been told it's not arabic but something very old. It is found on a medallion worn around the neck. The text on both sides like a coin. Any input would be greatly appreciated as I have no starting point.

the link:
rg003.rabidgambit.net/scan001.jpg

my e-mail:
[email protected]

Selcuk Akyuz
Selcuk Akyuz  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 02:18
English to Turkish
+ ...
it may be Ottoman Turkish Sep 20, 2004

written in Arabic script.

Randa Farhat
Randa Farhat  Identity Verified
Lebanon
Local time: 02:18
English to Arabic
+ ...
not Arabic Sep 21, 2004

looks like some old Hebrew script or an ancient semitic!

fusupo
fusupo
English
TOPIC STARTER
interesting... Sep 21, 2004

there seems to be little concensus(on this forum or otherwise) as to what language this might be, someone(probably the guy at the local bodega) told me that it may be Urdu, which after a bit of 'net research seems plausible. It has also been suggested that this may be a very old system, one that may not be in use today. I'm wondering, the lay-man that I am, what are the difficulties in pin-pointing the origin of the text and what are some avenues I could persue to narrow the list of posibiliti... See more
there seems to be little concensus(on this forum or otherwise) as to what language this might be, someone(probably the guy at the local bodega) told me that it may be Urdu, which after a bit of 'net research seems plausible. It has also been suggested that this may be a very old system, one that may not be in use today. I'm wondering, the lay-man that I am, what are the difficulties in pin-pointing the origin of the text and what are some avenues I could persue to narrow the list of posibilities(e.g. ask someone at a museum, library, university, and/or embassy). thanks again.Collapse

Adam Bartley
Adam Bartley  Identity Verified
Australia