Thierry LOTTE
Thierry LOTTE  Identity Verified
Local time: 13:04
Member (2001)
English to French
+ ...
Jun 29, 2004

Salve !

I am reading a french novel containing a lot of Latin quotation with their translation by the author himself.

One of the translation from latin puzzles me a little bit :

“ crede mihi experto Roberto”

Translated in french by :

“ Fiez-vous à moi qui en ai l’expérience”

More or lesss in english : “do trust in me, because I have some experience in such matters”

There is more than
... See more
Salve !

I am reading a french novel containing a lot of Latin quotation with their translation by the author himself.

One of the translation from latin puzzles me a little bit :

Translated in french by :

More or lesss in english : “do trust in me, because I have some experience in such matters”

There is more than 25 years that I sold my “Gaffiot” (the most famous Latin-French-Latin Dic) and I am wondering why “Roberto” have a capital letter…
Roberto seems as a first name for me. Any other possible translation for “Roberto” ¿

FYG there are no characters in this novel whose first name is “Roberto”.
Another tip : the action of this novel takes place in the XVI th century in france and the dialogs are between physicians.

Anybody could be so kind to give me some clue ?

PS : this quotation runs along the 6000 pages of the novel and is always translated in the same way.

[Edited at 2004-06-29 19:13]

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2004-06-29 23:11]
Collapse

BelkisDV
BelkisDV  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 08:04
Spanish to English
+ ...
Could it be... Jun 29, 2004

Hi Thierry,

The first and only thing that comes to mind is that it is an expression like: Como Vicente y otros veinte. In other words, "experto" rhymes with "Roberto".

Now I'm puzzled too.

Regards,
Belkis

Geoffrey Barrow
Geoffrey Barrow
Norwegian to English
Robert Burton - Democritus Junior Jun 29, 2004